Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole #2 Conquer Your TBR

It’s time for another Down the TBR Hole! Where I take my Goodreads “to-read” list, and I rip it to shreds in the hope that by the end of a few months, my TBR pile will be much more manageable. You can find my first post on this here. This was, of course, started by none other than Lia at Lost in a Story and has already helped my to-read pile tremendously. I clear out 10 books with every post so let’s get started!

The Rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads To-Read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
  • Repeat every week until the entire list has been filtered.

Books on the Chopping Block:

tbr1Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell – Susanna Clarke (Added September 15, 2015)

I’ve got this huge copy in my living room and I know for a fact I still want to read it. I can’t even say I can pin this books true genre down, which is probably another reason I’m dying to read it. Gotta do it. VERDICT: STAY

 

 

Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card (Added September 15, 2015)tbr2

Orson Scott Card has been touted as a pretty problematic dude, but even knowing that I’m a huge fan of Science Fiction and Fantasy and there is much to learn from the genre from Card. It’s okay to have problematic author favs, just remember to read critically! Ender’s Game is lauded in the SF community as a must read. VERDICT: STAY

 

tbr3Anna Dressed in Blood – Kendare Blake (Added September 15, 2015

I completely forgot this book existed, so I had to go do the Googles and see what genre it was even in. HORROR. Okay, I’ve recently gotten very into supernatural Horror and have just a few on my To-Read lists. My streak isn’t great today, but I’m gonna have to keep this one around. VERDICT: STAY

 

Sabriel – Garth Nix (Added September 15, 2015)tbr4

This is a series I’ve wanted to read for far longer than the date it was added to my Goodreads. I’m pretty sure the main character is asexual, so that would also be an interesting read. Not to mention the Fantasy. Oh, how I adore fantasy! It’s also got really good ratings across the board (which I always take with a grain of salt, but hey, 4.17 ain’t half bad). VERDICT: STAY

 

tbr8The Good Neighbor – A. J. Banner (Added September 16, 2015)

This book is in the Thriller category and got abysmal reviews. I’m not usually one to abandon a book to read based off of review alone, but I’m trying to cut down here and this is as good a reason as any other. VERDICT: GO

 

 

Seraphina – Rachel Hartman (Added September 16, 2015)tbr5

I love kids books. This is a thing that I like. At 27 I adore children’s books with a passion. Most of them are far more complex than adults give them credit for. Seraphina is a kids book that has dragons, and honestly, I’m here for that. VERDICT: STAY

 

 

tbr9Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil – John Berendt (Added September 16, 2015)

This is one of those that I’ve heard a ton of people talking about, but never really saying a whole lot about what it is. Mostly I’ve heard bits and pieces about how wonderful the prose was, but for me, the prose isn’t what makes a novel great. As much as it pains me, I should probably just hack this one off my list. VERDICT: GO

 

The Devil in the White City – Erik Larson (Added September 16, 2015)tbr6

I’ve actually started and stopped this book several times, and that alone tells me that it’s a good time to take it off my Goodreads TBR. VERDICT: GO

 

 

tbr7Kushiel’s Dart – Jacqueline Carey (Added September 16, 2015)

This book is a hefty 900 pages, which I’m prone to love, and this is no exception. People either loved or hated this book, as it encompasses many uncomfortable topics – prostitution being one of them. I’m going to keep it around, seeing as I do already own a copy. VERDICT: STAY

 

 

The Demon King – Cinda Williams Chima (Added September 16, 2015)tbr10

This one is very much a fantasy book. It starts off with a guy who has cuffs on his arm that are definitely magicked. They grow as he grows and he can never get them off. Cue finding out that the cuffs belonged to a very evil and dangerous man- yes, sorry, keeping this one. VERDICT: STAY

 

 

I only got rid of 3/10 this time around. Sigh. But I suppose that progress is progress and some is better than none. Are you guys cleaning out your TBR lists? What new books have you added? Let me know down below in the comments! I love talking books with everyone.

Until next time,

Kelly

2 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #2 Conquer Your TBR

Leave a Reply

