Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole #1 Conquer Your TBR

Saw this in some book tags and thought it was an incredible idea. It was started by Lia at Lost In a Story, and I was really excited to try it out. The gist is to take your “To-Read” list on Goodreads, start from the oldest books, and decide whether you should keep them in your TBR pile or remove a few and carry on. I have around 150 on my TBR list and I desperately need to start thinning the crop.

The rules:

  1. Go to your Goodreads To-Read shelf.
  2. Order on ascending date added.
  3. Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  4. Read the synopses of the books
  5. Decide: keep it or should it go?
  6. Repeat every week until the entire list has been filtered.

Books on the Chopping Block:

Outlander_cover

Outlander – Diana Gabaldon (Added June 29, 2012)

This book has been in my TBR pile longer than I can remember, although Goodreads informs me that it was 5 years ago. I haven’t watched much of the TV show that it was made into, but I did read half of this book and found the premise to be interesting and the prose to be easy to get lost in. Since I have this book on a shelf in my house, I’m going to give it another shot before I toss it. VERDICT: STAY

 

The Andromeda Strain – Michael Crichton (Added July 10, 2014)TBRhole

I think I got a small copy of this from a friend and just never got around to reading it. The writer of Jurassic Park surely weaves an interesting tale that involves a dangerous disease, but I haven’t tried to pick it up in 3 years and I doubt I can force myself to try again. VERDICT: GO

 

The Executioner’s Song – Normal Mailer (Added October 13, 2014)

TBRhole2This was put on my list because a family member read it and loved it. I bought it, knowing when I did that it was far too “literary” for my tastes. And while I know it’s a great book, it’s also huge and I don’t think I’d actually enjoy the massive amount of time I’d spend trying to get through it. VERDICT: GO

 

 

The Witching Hour – Anne Rice (Added October 13, 2014)TBRhole3

Oh, Anne. I love her writing so much. Reading her Vampire Chronicles was my first foray into dark and wicked worlds and I can’t say that I’ll never want to dive into her other series about the lives of the Mayfair Witches at some point. So for that, I’ll have to keep this hefty book on my list. VERDICT: STAY

 

The Secrets of Life and Death – Rebecca Alexander (Added December 14, 2014)

TBRHole4This particular book is a dark historical fiction, and while it seemed pretty cool at the time, my tastes have changed so much that I don’t think I’d pick this one up if left up to my own devices. VERDICT: GO

 

 

 

Fear the Sky – Stephen Moss (Added December 14, 2014)TBRHole5

I don’t have nearly enough Science Fiction in my TBR compared to Fantasy so this epic space series will be sticking around on my lists for a little while longer, especially considering it was well received in the review community. VERDICT: STAY

 

TBRhole6

The Diviners – Libba Bray (Added December 22, 2014)

When I picked this book up I had no idea it was by Libba Bray. Maybe I didn’t know who she was at at the time and didn’t think much about it. The only book I’ve read by Libba Bray was Beauty Queens and, although it was satire, I didn’t really enjoy it. This book is in the YA category but also hints at the supernatural. I think I’ll keep it around. VERDICT: STAY

 

The Other Typist – Suzanne Rindell (Added December 22, 2014)TBRhole7

This one is being made, or has been made, into a movie recently. That doesn’t have a bearing on whether or not I want to read the book, but reviews either love it or hate it. It’s got a twisty turny plot so I think I’ll keep it on. VERDICT: STAY

 

TBRhole8City of Dark Magic – Magnus Flyte (Added December 22, 2014)

I initially was super excited about this book. City of Dark Magic? That Cover? Sign me up. But I heard that it read more like a historical fiction with a few alchemical distractions used to further the plot, and now I think I’d rather not waste my time. VERDICT: GO

 

The Fairy Tale Detectives – Michael Buckley (Added September 15, 2015)TBRhole9

My early years on Goodreads were obviously kind of sparse, but I remember adding this vividly. It’s a “Sister’s Grim” take on the brother’s Grim and how the stories are all true. Sorry, I cannot pass this up. VERDICT: STAY

 

I think this thinning out of my TBR pile is gonna take quite some time, considering that out of ten books I only decided to toss four. This is way more painful than I thought it would be! What about you guys? How many books are on your Goodreads “To-read” list and do you think you should do a great culling of all the books?

 

4 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #1 Conquer Your TBR

Leave a Reply

